News Alerts

Find out about upcoming MCDA news and events by email - sign up today!

[recaptcha size:compact]

Conservation Districts
Distric Map
Whitemud Watershed Conservation District
By admin

The Whitemud District was created in 1972, and is Manitoba’s first conservation district. The watershed includes all or part of the municipalities of Rosedale, Langford, Lansdowne, Odanah, Minto, North Cypress, Westbourne, Lakeview, Glenella, Portage la Prairie, North Norfolk, Alonsa, McCreary and Clanwilliam. Also included are the communities of Austin, Carberry, Gladstone, Glenella, MacGregor, Neepawa, Plumas, Rosedale, and others. The area of the watershed is approximately 2700 square miles. The watershed includes a little of almost every kind of land and environment that can be found in southern Manitoba west of the Whiteshell. The major creeks feeding the Whitemud River include Rat Creek, the Westbourne Drain, Squirrel Creek, Pine Creek, Boggy Creek, Stony Creek, Grass River and many other smaller creeks. The District is responsible for the maintenance of over 1100 miles of man-made waterways and the associated crossings. The District also delivers soil and water conservation projects such as forage seed assistance, shelterbelt planting, grassed runways, water retention, shale traps, wildlands habitat preservation, conservation corridors, streambank stabilization and riparian management. The District’s Water Management Strategy was updated in 2006 and forms part of the Five –Year Plan ending 2012/2013. An Integrated Watershed Management Plan has been initiated and is expected to be completed in 2012. Rosedale Farm Soil and Water Conservation Project & Recreational Trail: The Rosedale Demonstration Farm is regularly used for educational purposes and now features an all-season recreational trail.  The farm is located 8 km West of Eden.  Watch for guided trail hikes and events in the local media, and don’t forget to sign the guest book!


Your Cart