News Alerts

Find out about upcoming MCDA news and events by email - sign up today!

[recaptcha size:compact]

Conservation Districts
Distric Map
Turtle Mountain Conservation District
By admin

The District was initially formed as the Turtle Mountain Resource Conservation District in 1973, and officially became the Turtle Mountain Conservation District (TMCD) in 1978.

The TMCD is located along the International Boundary in Southwestern Manitoba and covers 4,518km2 (451,800 ha).  The District occupies all or parts of the Rural Municipalities of Arthur, Brenda, Cameron, Winchester, Morton, and Turtle Mountain.  It also includes the Towns of Deloraine, Boissevain, Hartney, Killarney, and the Village of Waskada.

The main objectives of the District are soil and water conservation.  Some of the major programs include abandoned well sealing, salinity seed assistance, grassed waterways, remote watering systems, small dam construction, wildlife habitat preservation, public education and an annual Water Festival. The TMCD completed a watershed management plan for the East Souris River Watershed in 2006. Together with the Pembina Valley and the Assiniboine Hills Conservation District’s completed the Pembina River Watershed Management Plan in 2009 and was approved by the Minister of Water Stewardship in 2011.  


Your Cart