News Alerts

Find out about upcoming MCDA news and events by email - sign up today!

[recaptcha size:compact]

Conservation Districts
Distric Map
Swan Lake Watershed Conservation District
By admin

The Swan Lake Watershed Conservation District was formed in 2006 and programming started in 2007 once staff were in place. The district covers approximately 4300 km/2 between the Duck and Porcupine Mountains, with the Province of Saskatchewan on the western boundary and the Swan Lake lowlands to the east. District is governed by four sub-watersheds with 26 sub-district members. The landscape below the escarpments referred to as the Swan River Plains is one of the most productive agricultural areas of the province. The district works closely with its Municipal Partners, Town of Swan River, RM of Swan River, Town of Minitonas, RM of Minitonas, Village of Benito, Village of Bowsman and RM of Mountain with its top priority “Water Quality” both “Surface and Groundwater Management” within our closed watershed to ensure our future needs and long-term sustainability. The district delivers incentive-based programming to address land and water issues, including stream bank stabilization, grassed waterway construction or repair, abandoned well sealing/capping, well head protection, well water testing, surface water testing, tree planting projects, riparian zone management programming, fisheries and wildlife enhancement. Education on activities that have a positive impact on the health of our watershed is an important role in all our programming. District works closely with the schools in the area and with our local Envirothon team. With the support from Manitoba Water Stewardship, SLWCD is currently involved with the development of our Integrated Watershed Management Plan for Swan Lake Watershed.


Your Cart